Sen. James Merritt


200 W. Washington Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204


Name Short Description Author | Sponsor Legislation Type
SB 15 Fresh food initiative. Authored Bill
SB 45 Museums. Authored Bill
SB 80 Ephedrine and pseudoephedrine. Authored Bill
SB 89 Lifeline law. Authored Bill
SB 147 School emergency response systems. Authored Bill
SB 151 Excluded city military base reuse authority. Authored Bill
SB 186 Release of medical tests of pregnant women. Authored Bill
SB 187 Overdose intervention drugs. Authored Bill
SB 188 State park alcoholic beverage permits. Authored Bill
SB 204 Foreclosed and abandoned property. Authored Bill
SB 205 Controlled substances. Authored Bill
SB 213 911 fees. Authored Bill
SB 257 Distressed water and wastewater utilities. Authored Bill
SB 270 Coverage for abuse deterrent opioids. Authored Bill
SB 271 Drug enforcement, treatment, and prevention. Authored Bill
SB 300 Appraisement and real estate brokers. Authored Bill
SB 355 Tax sales and tax sale properties. Authored Bill
SB 383 System integrity adjustments. Authored Bill
SB 399 White River State Park. Authored Bill
SCR 35 Honoring Indiana's Bicentennial. Authored Resolution
SCR 56 Recognizing the NCAA Women's Basketball Final Four and Division II and III National Championships. Authored Resolution
SR 8 Urging the leg council to study the topic of creating permanent funding of child rescue programs and funding investigations of Internet crimes against children known as Alicia's Law. Authored Resolution
SR 20 Honoring Lee Hamilton. Authored Resolution
SR 21 Honoring William Ruckelshaus. Authored Resolution
SR 28 The 50th anniversary of the National Historic Preservation Act. Authored Resolution
SR 38 Honoring the 2016 Senate Majority interns. Authored Resolution
SB 67 Local income tax distributions. Co-authored Bill
SB 76 Military service and Medicaid eligibility. Co-authored Bill
SB 90 Juvenile release by intake officers. Co-authored Bill
SB 145 Unclaimed remains of veterans. Co-authored Bill
SB 154 Indiana national guardsmen funeral allowance. Co-authored Bill
SB 177 Alcoholic beverage matters. Co-authored Bill
SB 197 Internet crimes investigation fund and fee. Co-authored Bill
SB 294 Sale of carryout at Indianapolis 500 Race. Co-authored Bill
SB 295 Requires that state income tax forms be modified to enable a taxpayer to donate all or part of the taxpayer's tax refund to the military family relief fund (fund). Co-authored Bill
SB 297 Opioid dependence treatment. Co-authored Bill
SB 310 Lake County pilot program and other local government matters. Co-authored Bill
SB 333 Road funding and regional cities program. Co-authored Bill
SB 352 Marion superior court judges. Co-authored Bill
SB 362 National guard members and veterans. Co-authored Bill
SB 391 Straight ticket voting. Co-authored Bill
SCR 1 Expressing appreciation for Lieutenant Governor Ellspermann. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 3 Urging INDOT to place a memorial sign where the 38th parallel crosses IN 69 entitled "Veterans of the Korean War Memorial - 38th Parallel". Co-authored Resolution
SCR 4 Recognizing LSA's Office of Fiscal and Management Analysis. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 10 Honoring Senior Trooper J. Ryan Winters. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 13 Urging INDOT to rename that portion of U.S. 31 through Howard County as "The Haynes-Apperson Expressway". Co-authored Resolution
SCR 24 Honoring the 1975-1976 Indiana University basketball team. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 27 Honoring Justice Brent E. Dickson. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 30 Recognizing FFA. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 41 Congratulating Jackie Young. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 54 Honoring the Chesterton High School debate team. Co-authored Resolution
SCR 61 Celebrating the 100th running of the Indianapolis 500. Co-authored Resolution
SR 1 To confirm the nomination of Eric Holcomb to take office as Lieutenant Governor. Co-authored Resolution
SR 3 Honoring Gloria Schroeder upon her retirement and thanking her for 30 years of exceptional service to the Indiana State Senate. Co-authored Resolution
SR 6 Recognizing the Community Civility Counts Initiative of the Gary Chamber of Commerce. Co-authored Resolution
SR 11 Congratulating Whiting High School for their outstanding academic achievements. Co-authored Resolution
SR 35 Honoring Senator Patricia Miller upon her retirement. Co-authored Resolution
SR 42 Honoring Senator Carlin Yoder. Co-authored Resolution
SR 43 Honoring Senator Schneider upon his retirement. Co-authored Resolution
SR 44 Honoring Senator Steele upon his retirement. Co-authored Resolution
SR 46 Honoring Senator Brent Waltz upon his retirement. Co-authored Resolution
SR 48 Honoring Senator Arnold upon his retirement. Co-authored Resolution
SR 50 Honoring Senator Rogers upon her retirement. Co-authored Resolution
SR 51 Honoring Senator Broden upon his retirement. Co-authored Resolution
SR 68 Protecting the domestic steel industry. Co-authored Resolution
HB 1017 Publication of notice by political subdivisions. Sponsored Bill
HB 1028 Human trafficking and common nuisances. Sponsored Bill
HB 1118 Alcoholic beverage permits and redevelopment. Sponsored Bill
HB 1218 Franchise employment. Sponsored Bill
HB 1247 Alcoholic beverage issues. Sponsored Bill
HB 1360 Realtor continuing education. Sponsored Bill
HB 1378 Divestment from boycott Israel businesses. Sponsored Bill
HCR 25 Congratulating the Bishop Chatard High School Trojans football team on its Class 3A state championship. Sponsored Resolution
HCR 44 Congratulating the Fishers High School "We the People" team. Sponsored Resolution
HCR 52 Honoring volunteers for contributing more than 100,000 hours of labor to the Indiana State Archives. Sponsored Resolution
HCR 54 Recognizing Indiana's electric utility line men and women for their dedication and commitment to keeping the lights on and keeping Hoosiers safe all across Indiana. Sponsored Resolution
HCR 59 Honoring the life of Susan Kelley Jordan. Sponsored Resolution
HCR 74 Honoring Coach Jim Belden. Sponsored Resolution
HCR 2 Honoring the inductees and the Indiana Military Veterans Hall of Fame. Co-sponsored Resolution
HCR 3 Recognizing the "Chair of Honor" in the State House honoring all Prisoners of War and those Missing in Action. Co-sponsored Resolution
HCR 13 Congratulating Indiana State Parks on its 100th anniversary. Co-sponsored Resolution
HCR 51 Memorializing former Representative William Crawford. Co-sponsored Resolution
HCR 64 Honoring volunteer firefighters. Co-sponsored Resolution
HCR 69 Recognizing the American Red Cross for serving the people of Indiana for more than 100 years. Co-sponsored Resolution