2018 Session Legislative Deadlines

Date Description
Monday, October 23, 2017 Senators may begin filing bills for the 2018 Session (Senate Rule 44). Senators can file no more than a total of ten bills or joint resolutions (Senate Rule 48(a)).
Tuesday, November 21, 2017 Organization Day for the 2018 Session (IC 2-2.1-1-3). Representatives may begin filing bills (House Rule 103).
Wednesday, January 3, 2018 Senators may file only two bills per business day beginning today (Senate Rule 48(b)).
Friday, January 5, 2018 Deadline for filing Senate bills (Senate Rule 48(b)) not later than 4:00 p.m.
Monday, January 8, 2018 Latest day session must reconvene (IC 2-2.1-1-3)
Tuesday, January 9, 2018 Deadline for filing House bills (Fourth meeting day in January)(House Rule 107.2, not later than 2:00 p.m.).
Wednesday, January 10, 2018 Filing of House vehicle bills (Fifth meeting day in January)(House Rule 106.1).
Friday, January 12, 2018 Last day Senate bills may be assigned to Senate committees (Seven (7) calendar days following the last day for filing Senate bills and resolutions (Senate Rule 49(a)).
Monday, February 5, 2018 Last day for 3rd reading of House bills in House (House Rule 147.2 & 2.1).
Tuesday, February 6, 2018 Last day for 3rd reading of Senate bills in Senate (Senate Rule 79(a), subject to Senate Rule 88(b)).
Monday, March 5, 2018 Last day for 3rd reading of Senate bills in House (House Rule 148.2 & 2.1).
Monday, March 5, 2018 Last day for House adoption of conference committee reports without Rules Committee approval (House Rule 161.2)
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 Last day for 3rd reading of House bills in the Senate (Senate Rule 79(b)).
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 Last day for Senate adoption of conference committee reports without Rules Committee approval (Senate Rule 86(l)).
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 Last day for adjournment of both houses (IC 2-2.1-1-3).